Softball preview: 2017 NCAA Texas-Tyler Regional

Softball preview: 2017 NCAA Texas-Tyler Regional

NCAA Texas-Tyler Regional

May 12-14, 2017

Suddenlink Field | Tyler, Texas (750)

Tournament Central

 

Location: Tyler, Texas (Suddenlink Field/750)
Live StreamTexas-Tyler Portal
Live StatsTexas-Tyler Portal
Tickets: Adults - $10, Students and Senior Citzens - $5, Children under 3 - Free 

NCAA Texas-Tyler Regional Schedule:

Friday, May 12

Game 1 – 1:00 p.m. CT/11:00 a.m. PT –  Texas-Tyler vs. La Verne

Game 2 – 4 p.m. CT/2 p.m. PT – La Verne vs. Texas Lutheran

Saturday, May 13

Game 3 – 2 p.m. CT/noon PT – Texas Lutheran vs. Texas-Tyler

Game 4 – 5 p.m. CT/3 p.m. PT – TBD; See scenarios below

Sunday, May 14

Game 5 – Noon CT/10 a.m. PT – TBD; See scenarios below

SCENARIO 1
If two teams remain after GAME 3:
Game 4 – Two remaining teams play.  If the undefeated team wins, that team wins the regional tournament and advances to the Super Regional.

SCENARIO 2
If three teams remain after Game 3
GAME 4 – No. 2 seed vs. No. 3 seed
GAME 5 – No. 1 seed vs. winner of GAME 4; Winner of GAME 5 advances to Super Regional.

La Verne (31-12, 20-8 SCIAC) Quick Hits

• La Verne is making its 10th NCAA National Championship tournament apperance; the Leopards punched their ticket by winning the 2017 SCIAC Postseason Tournament title

Alexis Schiff was named the 2017 SCIAC Athlete of the Year and led the conference in seven offensive categories: Batting average (.398), on-base percentage (.516), slugging percentage (.837), home runs (15), RBI (41), total bases (103) and walks (29)

• In six games against three teams (Whitworth, Ithaca, Williams) that qualified for the NCAA tournament, Schiff went 7-for-18 with three home runs, six RBI and five runs scored

Elisa Ponce (13-5, 2.56 ERA), a First Team All-SCIAC selection, had excellent outings against Ithaca and Williams; the junior transfer threw a complete game shutout in a 2-0 win against Ithaca and tossed 6 1/3 total innings while giving up just one run on five hits against Williams

Hayley Jaquess (12-5, 2.86 ERA), another First Team All-SCIAC selection, also was outstanding against eventual NCAA tournament qualifiers; she threw four innings while giving up one earned run against Whitworth and hurled a total of six innings while allowing one earned run against Williams

No. 4 Texas-Tyler (39-4, 28-2 American Southwest Conference) Quick Hits

• Texas-Tyler is the defending NCAA Division III National Champion and is ranked No. 4 in the latest NFCA Coaches Poll; the Patriots are making its 10th NCAA Tournament appearance

• On offense, the Patriots are led by ASC Player of the Year Kaylee Prather, who hit .510/.560/.682 with two home runs, 10 doubles, five triples and 34 stolen bases; her 77 hits on the season leads the nation

• Whitney Romero (13-1) leads the Patriots in the circle; she has recorded 70 strikeouts and has a 1.21 ERA through 86 2/3 innings of work this season. She threw one no-hitter and has 12 complete games and eight shutouts

• The Patriots lead the nation in team batting average (.390), fielding percentage (.983) and slugging percentage (.571); they are ranked third in scoring (7.81 runs per game) and shutouts (21)

No. 5 Texas Lutheran (37-4, 22-0 Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference) Quick Hits

• Texas Lutheran is ranked No. 5 and is making its fourth NCAA Tournament appearance

• After dropping the season's first four games, the Bulldogs enter the regionals with an incredible 37-game winning streak

• Ace Maitlin Raycroft (20-2, 0.96), the SCAC Newcomer and Pitcher of the Year, is one of the best pitchers in the nation; the junior led the country with 14 shutouts while striking out 211 (5th) and the opponents have hit just .110 against her

• Outfielder Kaymee Gooden was tabbed as SCIAC Co-Player of the Year; the senior hit .378/.445/.739 with eight home runs, seven doubles and six triples while driving in 36 runs

• The Bulldogs lead the nation with 4.59 steals per game; Gooden leads the team with 30 steals and four other players have at least 20 stolen bases apiece


Softball sweeps Pomona-Pitzer
February 25, 2017 Softball sweeps Pomona-Pitzer