Pat Skehan
Pat Skehan
Title: Head Swimming & Diving Coach
Phone: (909) 448-4543

Pat Skehan enters her ninth season as head men's and women's swimming and diving coach for the University of La Verne in 2018-19.

La Verne has produced some of the greatest swimmers and divers in school history under Skehan. In 2013, Skehan's second year in charge, Marc Okimura and Madeline Lovrensky became the first All-Americans since Jared Carvitto in 2006. Okimura earned All-America status in the 100 yard and the 200 yard breaststroke and Lovrensky earned the honors in the 100 backstroke and the 200 backstroke.

Under Skehan's mentorship, Lovrensky went on to become the greatest swimmer in La Verne history, winning three more All-America honors, including a silver medal in the 100 backstroke at the 2015 NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championships. Lovrensky never lost a SCIAC backstroke race in her four years and owns seven school records and two SCIAC records.

In 2014, Scott MacKay and Jacob Tittl became the first La Verne divers to qualify for and compete at the regional diving championships. MacKay qualified for the meet again in 2015 and went one step further in 2016, becoming the first Leopard diver to qualify for the national championships. Andrew Tompkins continued the excellence in diving in 2017 as he qualified for the NCAA regionals as a freshman.

In 2018, Skehan saw three program records broken. Mary Hanna broke the 200 yard IM record set by Lovrensky in 2014 (2:12.25) at the 2018 SCIAC Championships with a time of 2:11.84. Brandon Pon also set two records at the meet, setting La Verne's best mark in the 1650 yard freestyle at 15:52.84 on his way to a second place finish. He also swam the fastest 1000 yard freestyle in program history with a time of 9:33.39. Hanna also led the Leopards academically, earning La Verne Scholar-Athlete of the Year recognition. 

Prior to La Verne, Skehan spent 22 seasons as head women's swimming coach at Cal State Bakersfield. During her tenure with the Roadrunners, she led the program from inception and successfully elevated it into one of the nation's top Division II programs.

In that span, Skehan led Cal State Bakersfield to numerous Top-10 placings at the NCAA Division II Championships including a total of five Top-5 national finishes.  She guided the Roadrunners to its best-ever placing with an NCAA Division II runner-up finish in 1998.  In addition, she coached 13 event national champions.  Moreover, she coached a total of seven athletes who earned NCAA Swimmer/Diver of the Year and coached the NCAA Division II Swimmer of the Decade in Lori Burton.

Her Cal State Bakersfield teams also excelled in the classroom with a total of 18 team Academic All-Americans along with 12 individual Academic All-Americans and four NCAA Post Graduate Scholarships.

In addition to her head coaching duties, Skehan served as Aquatics Director at Cal State Bakersfield from 1998 to 2010, overseeing scheduling, staffing, management and operations of the John S. Hillman Aquatic Center.

Prior to her stint at Cal State Bakersfield, Skehan served as head women's swimming coach at the University of Rochester (1980-89).  While at Rochester, her squads scored at the NCAA Division III Championships each season.